Tags

, , , , , , ,

Entering the Louvre'

Entering the Louvre'

Unfortunately I am tapping this out post-Paris so hopefully I will get the order correct of what happened where.

After another lovely evening with Tony and Pru and sleeping in the most comfortable sofa bed ever created we headed off to the Lourve. I popped out from a quick morning job and then bought croissants, fruit, yoghurt and baguettes. (so many choices of yoghurt and everything is very cheap).

On the way to the Lourve we wandered a bit and got a little lost, I think this is due to that architecture that surrounded us and we day dreamed a bit. There were also a few homeless people sleeping with dogs. I noticed in Paris to be homeless you must have a dog it is the ultimate accessory.

We spotted a few crowds heading to what we believed to be the right direction and it was. We walk through some arches only to unveil the “courtyard” of the Lourve. I say “courtyard” as it is the size of a footy ground. The renaissance styled building cuddling the contemporary pyramids of the entrance. This was just hugely impressive. We had to take a moment to compose’ ourselves, when I say we I mean me.

We arrived about 9:40am and we were in an ticketed up by 10:20am, or so my ticket tells me.

We joined the queue and ripped out our baguette and jar of Vegemite to munch on in the queue. Bloody Aussies. Next thing you know we had entered the pyramid. I once had my tea leaves read and he said I would travel and definitely to Egypt, I think he may of confused it with the Louvre, I felt like I was at home. Clive has noticed I am happiest in a gallery, he thinks I should live in one.

We went down the stairs into the large marble foyer, (oh I also tripped on a large piece of marble the day before walking home from the Eiffel Tower, Paris drips in marble and gold trim). We bought a multimedia/audio tour which was a great idea. All the labels are in French so at least with the audio guide you know whats going on a bit. They also have planned tours you can take. Clive cleverly suggested we do the Masterpieces tour before the crowds get too much. And off we went.

We saw the The Venus de Milo, or Aphrodite of Melos which was a bit crowded by the shoot and run tourists (basically they dive bomb in get a photo, try to touch the works or actually do and get out, they don’t stop to take it in). Clive and I were surprised how large it was and beautifully carved. We then went on to The Winged Victory of Samothrace. I have to say this was one of the most impressive sculptures I have ever seen. It stands at the top of some stairs and it is huge. The carved form clearly displays a domineering yet feminine presence. We bought a postcard of this to keep and Clive took some pictures, here’s one.

The Winged Victory of Samothrace, Musee' de Lourve

The Winged Victory of Samothrace, Musee' de Louvre

We battled a growing crowd and moved on.

We wandered through the beautiful gold encrusted ceilings of Napoleon towards the most recognisable woman in the world, Mona Lisa.

When we arrived it was packed. It was like I was at a concert and they were trying to push up into a mosh pit.

Clive stood back as the crowds were crazy, I thought if I can’t beat em, join em. And on I went. I stood about 3 metres from the Mona Lisa and I think this is where you do realise she is haunting. Just sitting there watching you, teasing you with a smile that I feel she knows something I don’t know and that I should! I was the only person up there without a camera. I just stood there and took it in. Then laughed when a mother left her child in the mosh pit. It took me just as long to get out as it did to get in.

Mona Lisa and the crowd of art paparazzi's

Mona Lisa and the crowd of art paparazzi's.

We also saw a few other master pieces but this stood out. We had been in the Louvre about 2 hours by now. We needed supplies, STAT. The gallery has 2 places to eat, one charges 18.60euro for a sandwich, I am sure it was a very good sandwich and although I do love a good sanger I wasn’t paying that. The other charged 6euro for a baguette. We choose the baguette. We had a lovely waiter who was charmed that we tried to order in french and also a real ladies man and fussed over me, I was chuffed.

We then went and hunted a Sisley. High-ho the dairy-o a hunting we shall go.

We arrived at the wing where Monet and Sisley works were to be, alas it was being renovated. Clive was gutted. And then we walked around the corner to basically stubble upon them. There wasn’t many people in this section of the gallery, Impressionism must be so passe’ to the tourists. I have to say although I date a Sisley I really do love the work. I think Alfred Sisley captures light amazingly and in a very different way Monet did.

Sisley & Sisley

Sisley & Sisley

After this we wandered for a few more hours through their collections and came across a “The Art of Paper” exhibition which was quite impressive, a lot of Matisse, Picasso, Jaccard, Van Gogh and Rembrandt. It was a great find.

After this we wandered some more and then went home.

Musee du Louvre

Musee du Louvre

